Quick Thoughts…

OBAMACARE! I’m so proud of our president for getting Health Care Reform passed, I could just burst. Honestly, I cannot anyone who has looked rationally at where our health care in this country is today and what the plan will change, and not think it’s a great moment for us all. I am startled and horrified by the level of sour grapes and outright lack of respect the Republican party has shown this president. Yeah, it’s not fun being in the minority, is it? Well Democrats slogged down that dry, dirt road the last 8 years and they didn’t like it either, but they didn’t lose their dignity or their humanity in the process. I consider myself an independent but when it comes to health care reform, I’m all about it.

DANCING WITH THE STARS 2010 – If Kate G doesn’t get voted off first, I’ll eat my hat. Or my tiara. Or some sequins or fringe. Something.  And hopefully Jake will follow shortly after. (Despite some obvious attempt by the judges to give him undeserved higher scores.) What was with those low scores for Aiden?  Other than not moving his hips his first week out, and dancing immediately after a CURRENT Pussycat Doll who spends her career being choreographed?  Granted, I’m biased toward Alec Mazo and Edyta Sliwinska’s celebrities every season because I take class from them and they’re talented and generous and just overall spectacular people. But COME ON… This is the one form of dance I feel qualified to judge and I was perplexed by some of the scoring, to say the least. Texters of America, it’s up to you.

JAMIE OLIVER’S FOOD REVOLUTION: I’m not sure why it took a charming British chef to take on this country’s horrible eating habits, but thank god he has. I can’t wait to see him win over the folks in WV and the rest of the country with what is truly an inspirational effort. How he kept his cool in that radio interview in the first episode, I’ll never know. Clearly he has a cooler head than me. Bless you, Jamie, for wanting to help and daring to try. Well do I remember that the food in my HS cafeteria was so bad, my friends and I ordered subs from a deli across the street every day and made them deliver (cuz we couldn’t leave school grounds). Here’s a link to his petition to save cooking skills and improve school food: www.jamiesfoodrevolution.com/petition

Leave a Reply

