Hockey news – Red Wings peaking?

If you know me at all, you know I’m a huge Red Wings fan. I loved them so much when they had a slew of Russian players along with the Canadians and were rolling four lines, with Scotty “the bog” Bowman behind the bench. But times change and now the team is more of a mix of Swedes and Russians and Canadians, which is cool. They’ve still got mad style and are a pleasure to watch.

The team’s had a rough season, tons of injuries, and the NHL salary cap hampered their ability to bring in replacements, but I’m hoping that they’re peaking now just at the right time to carry them into the playoffs.  I want another Stanley Cup. I know we’ve won a few already in the last decade, but I want another one! Call me greedy. I don’t care.

I wish more women were hockey fans. It’s such a great sport, full of passion and athleticism, speed and skill. Look at the love in the photo below. Look at the brotherhood. I’m hoping the Olympics brought some new fans to the sport. It’s a hard sport to love until you see it live. Then you FEEL the bodies slamming against the boards, SEE the ice flying as they come to a sudden stop, HEAR the ding as a puck flies off the crossbar.  Once you see it, you’ll never be the same. If you get a chance to go, trust me, you should do it.

May '97 Red Wings, SC Champs

Leave a Reply

